Activation of Dingo ridge VK3/VC-028

Well I did get to activate Dingo Ridge on Sept 14 and managed 17 contacts, sorry no pix of the operation site, I seem to have misplaced them.

I walked up to Dingo Ridge from the Petigrew road side. It took me about 1.5 hours to get to the top mainly due to my lack of fitness.

Any other activators please note that Dingo Ridge is private land and the owners (and their neighbors) will report any motorized vehicles that try to access the ridge. Walkers horses and mountain bikes are quite welcome to use the area.

On the walk up I came across a Koala walking down the track towards me, he didnt seem to afraid and took refuge in a small gum tree about 2m above the ground just on the side of the track. The walk up is quite steep to start with but levels out about the 1/2 way mark to the top. At the top it is quite heavily treed so there are plenty of supports for your favorite wire antennas etc. Not much of a view though due to all the trees in the way.

On the way back to the car I came across 3 goats sunning themselves on some rocks, they were not phased by my presence just like the Koala.

This was my first solo SOTA activation. I will post some pix here when I find them.

Leave a Reply

